Hobby turned into a job!

Who would have thought that something that started as a class assignment, turned into a hobby, has now turned into a job!

Enjoying my summer while falling madly in love with this world reality then smacked me in the face at the start of this new school year. I know and you know that when I travel, I want to do it all; taste it all, try it all, see it all…I want to experience it all.   I saved all summer for my European adventures, my bank account was just as ready as I was. I did almost everything on my list, not knowing when I might return. I didn’t worry about money. I spent every penny  and figured I’d worry about money when I returned to the States. Well, that’s exactly when reality smacked me in the face. In the past years I worked all summer and that was the money that I used for the school year.  Things were much different at the start of this school year. My bank account wouldn’t even allow for me to live off Ramon noodles and PB&J sandwiches.

Job searching. Instead of trying to find a nanny job of some sort or a sales associate job, I decided that now is the time to start directing my work towards a future career. I have mastered the art of being a babysitter and of being a sales associate. After a week of searching online, I found the perfect internship that I wanted  needed. I sent an email, heard back, sent my resume, and then was asked to send my blog link. A few days after sending my own blog link I received a call to come in for an interview.

A week later my phone rang and the man on the other end was offering me the internship position! I couldn’t believe it. I accepted and I am now a new intern at DKI (Downtown Kalamazoo Incorporated.) DKI is a non-profit that coordinates the planning, the development and marketing the image of downtown Kalamazoo.

As an intern I will be writing for the DKI newsletter and writing their blog. An addition I will be working on their “Look Inside” segment. That will allow for me to travel to local businesses in downtown Kalamazoo to meet with the owner, interview, take pictures and then write a piece on that. I am beyond excited for this awesome opportunity.

Two years ago when I started this little blog, I never would have thought it would land me an internship position.

Cheers to happy times!

About average college girl with big dreams

Hi everyone reading my blog! My name is Lauren and this is my first blog ever. Lately, I've been reading lots of different blogs.. and it wasn't until today during my English class that I started my own blog as a requirement! :) I am excited and hopefully I stay committed to updating it. I am a young college student...experiencing the life. I try my best to do well in school, starting to workout daily and eat healthy well maintaining my social life! ;) I get a long with reading inspirational quotes and stories. Have fun & enjoy my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

