Next Chapter

The summer flew by, but doesn’t it always? On Tuesday my dad moved me back to school.  If I listened to my heart, I would be going to school back home. But in this scenario I can’t listen to my heart. I need to push myself to do things that I am not instantly comfortable doing. I guess that’s the whole thing with “growing up…” At least I’ve got my little companion (Nala) to be on this journey with me.

Tuesday wasn’t that great. It was a day full of God testing my patience. The morning started off on the wrong foot & that seemed to be the pattern for the rest of the day. We loaded up the trailer that my dad was going to be pulling with the pickup truck & loaded up my car and just when we were about to hit the road, the steering wheel on the pickup truck was locked. My dad had to call someone from the local auto repair to come over & help us out. Finally we were on the road to Kalamazoo, just a few hours off schedule. I had to drive with Nala— have I ever mentioned that she HATES, absolutely HATES the car? It’s awful. She cries, shakes, barks, scratches, tries to sit on my lap—  So needless to say for a two & half car ride, I needed to restrain her somewhat. Luckily, since I’ve been crate training her, I was able to put her kennel in my backseat. But, that did not stop her from crying & sometimes barking out of frustration.

We had to make a stop at my grandpa’s to pick up some of my stuff that I had been storing there during the summer. Well, of course when we got there we couldn’t get in. We had the wrong set of  keys.

When we finally reached my new apartment, my roommates were home & were very helpful with helping me move in. Then of course, my patience was tested yet again. The bed frame that I had brought up was only for a full size bed & of course I have a queen size bed.

Only about an hour later my patience was tested AGAIN. I had gone out to my car to carry in some stuff & I had brought Nala with me outside. My hands were way too full & I while I was trying to put the key in the door, hold Nala’s leash & everything else that was in my hands, I managed to drop the container full of the world’s smallest dog treats. Out they spilled, scattered all over. Nala was going crazy trying to inhale as many treats as she possibly could, while I was going crazy trying to pick them all up.

Test number six: Attempting to put my room together, I realized I had forgotten the bag of hangers…UGH! Extremely frustrating considering all of my clothes have to be hung up since I don’t have a dresser! Off I went to the store for hangers….

JUST MY LUCK!!!!

It only made sense that they would be completely sold out the night I went….

The following day (Wednesday) I needed to be up early (5:45am) to start my new nanny job. Hours later I am anxious to get home to see Miss Nala, I go to open my front door & the key won’t turn. Little did I know they had changed the locks…….. UGH! I then went to the office to get a new key. Yep, of course the key they gave me was the wrong one! Back to the office I went.

I was finally able to take Nala out & we met so many new dogs. I met the girl (Kelly) that lives below me & she has a dog named Izzy. We ended up talking for two hours while the dogs ran around! It was great! 🙂

New best friends!

Last night, my roommates (Jessie & Amanda) and I went out for dinner & drinks on a nice patio in downtown Kalamazoo. It was a very nice evening. When I came home I instantly fell asleep! MUCH needed sleep.

This morning Nala and I woke up at 7:50 and went for a longer walk, then played with Izzy for a little bit, and now here we sit on our beautiful back deck.  Hopefully I will find my new routine & I’ll start blogging more!

love it!

 

About average college girl with big dreams

Hi everyone reading my blog! My name is Lauren and this is my first blog ever. Lately, I've been reading lots of different blogs.. and it wasn't until today during my English class that I started my own blog as a requirement! :) I am excited and hopefully I stay committed to updating it. I am a young college student...experiencing the life. I try my best to do well in school, starting to workout daily and eat healthy well maintaining my social life! ;) I get a long with reading inspirational quotes and stories. Have fun & enjoy my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

