Reason #573

Well that’s frustrating! I just had a whole post for Thursday night & my computer just froze up so I had to restart my internet! Soo.. here I go again typing this post for a second time! Hopefully I don’t forget anything this time around!

Anyways.. I went to my first “mid-week worship” at my church on Wednesday night. It was awesome. The church that I go to is on my campus so it is very student affiliated. On Wednesday evenings they have worship, free pizza & an activity. This past Wednesday we had a guest speaker who talked about her experience in Afghanistan on a peace mission. Later in the evening I volunteered to tutor at a peace house on Thursday evening (today).

The peace house is located in a shady part of town.  It’s owned by a white couple who lives there with their family. On Monday through Thursdays they hold an after school program for the children in the neighborhood. Everyone that helps and tutors are volunteers. During the after school  program, volunteers help the children with their homework. After their homework is done the kids can play and eat a healthy snack that is provided.

Tonight was my first time volunteering and it was awesome. The kids that came were so excited to be there. I quickly made friends with a seven year old girl, Morgan, who was very entertaining. She was as cute and as sweet as can be. Her diva personality was accompanied by her gym shoes covered in pink glitter, flower leggings and a pink tutu. She was adorable. We sat there on the floor coloring with glitter crayons, laughing and talking!

Morgan informed me that I am going to make a very nice teacher when I grow up. 🙂 She then proceeded to tell me about her future, “I’m going to be the president. Barack Obama is going to have to get a different job.” haha. She was very funny and unaware of it. She later told me, “My dad once stole a pearl from a clam in the ocean, he had to swim away so fast!” I wish I could have recorded all of the funny things that she was telling me. I almost  forgot- she also said, “I fell into the ocean once and a whale had to save me.” haha.

I love kids and tonight was reason #573 why I do. I took a picture of Ms. Morgan on my phone so it’s not the best quality!

Ms. Adorable Morgan

I am very glad that I went to worship on Wednesday and was able to volunteer at the peace house. I am looking forward to next week!

To top off my great Thursday…my friends came and picked me up to bring me back home for the weekend!! 😀 I am currently sitting on my couch back home & I couldn’t be happier. I already wished this weekend would be longer…

I’m exhausted though. Goodnight!

About average college girl with big dreams

Hi everyone reading my blog! My name is Lauren and this is my first blog ever. Lately, I've been reading lots of different blogs.. and it wasn't until today during my English class that I started my own blog as a requirement! :) I am excited and hopefully I stay committed to updating it. I am a young college student...experiencing the life. I try my best to do well in school, starting to workout daily and eat healthy well maintaining my social life! ;) I get a long with reading inspirational quotes and stories. Have fun & enjoy my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reason #573

  1. Marie says:

    Dear Lauren,

    i am so glad that you are voluntering for these children, they need people like you, and Ms. Morgan is adorable. God is watching you and you will truly be rewarded for everything you are doing. God Blees You Lauren.

    Love and Miss You.. Marie

Leave a Reply

